Since the roster is the central point of Gabber, several functions are provided for managing the users and groups that make up the roster.
A subscription request must be sent and approved by a user before being able to see their status. When adding a user, Gabber automatically sends a subscription request to the user being added. To manually send a subscription request (useful for when a friend accidentally denied a request), select Resubscribe from the User Context Menu (see the section called User Context Menu in the chapter called Main Window).
On the receiving end of a subscription request, Gabber displays the Subscription Request dialog. This dialog also allows the user to add the sender to the roster and to rename the nickname used for the user (to be displayed throughout Gabber). After changing the customizable information, simply approve or deny the request by clicking Yes or No.